Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The proponents claim that emulating the diet of our ancestors will help us in curing many chronic illnesses. The reasons they provide are that our bodies evolved to eat these types of food and that our ancestors knew something about our physiology that we don't. There are more reasons that they provide, which are based on beliefs, lacking proper evidence to back their claims.

First, let's consider the assumption that our bodies evolved to eat these types of food and that adding these foods to our diet will improve health. There is no evidence to believe that our bodies have evolved to eat Paleo diets. Even if it were true that our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, our bodies will have no problem with the more easily digestible food we eat today. Moreover, foods such as cartilage and chondroitin might have more nutrients than the food we regularly eat, but the amount of nutrients digested and absorbed by the body is not addressed. It is possible that the nutrients absorbed are more from more digestible food we eat compared to the Paleo diet food, which makes the given argument completely invalid.

The statement that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases has many inherent problems. The group of people who consume bone broth might have other healthy habits which are probably leading to better health. To better evaluate this statement an experiment with proper setup must be performed where the only difference between the two sets of people should be their diet.

To add to this, the statement that ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don't is a very vague statement with no proper basis. Moreover, even if we assume that they had more knowledge, they could very be having the diet they were due based on the availability of food. In the end, there is no reason to believe that this diet will reduce chronic illnesses.

The proponents' argument as stated above is riddled with assumptions that are unwarranted for. Providing evidence to back the above-stated assumptions will help us in better evaluating the argument.