Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The passage presents an argument that claims Paleo diets to be a cure for many of our ailments but also its opposing views. Although it mentions quite a few health benefits it fails to support them with any scientific evidence. Further, it fails to take into account that humans have evolved and today's humans suffer from various diseases that didn't take exist in the past. Lastly, there is an assumed cause and effect between the food eaten and diseases cured which isn't necessarily true.

Firstly the passage talks about anecdotal evidence rather than scientific evidence. The passage talks about how cartilage can heal our joints and chondroitin can promote nerve regeneration. Both proposing and opposing views have been presented but no evidence to support these claims has been made. These are just observations that a select group in a select region seems to have made. This group of people could just be an outlier as no numbers or graphs have been presented.

Secondly, the passage fails to take into account the differences between today's worlds from that one hominid lived in. Today's generation lives a sedentary life where our main concern is earning money rather than surviving as was the case in the past. Today's human isn't as physically active and thus may suffer from different chronic diseases for which the Paleo diet will be of no help. Further global warming has changed today's world and the components of today's Paleo diet may not consist of all the required nutrients to help us the same way it helped the hominids.

Lastly the passage only talks about food and how Paleo diet is helping those with chronic diseases. However it is entirely possible that this diet isn't the cause of prevention of these diseases. Today's world is suffering from a lot more pollution that could affect our bodies in totally different ways and different diseases. Further just as humans have evolved, so have the bacteria which have become stronger and more potent. For example, the outbreak of covid affected everyone equally irrespective of their diets. In such a scenario, medicines and vaccines played a much more crucial role in fighting the disease.

To end this argument I would like that state that this passage tries to draw a correlation between chronic illness and the Paleo diet but what we really should be looking into for validating the argument is whether the Paleo diet has a causation factor to curing our ailments. We should further try to see if the time frame has had any effect and conduct more scientific research into the same.