"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that the Endure process patented by Durasock to increase the durability of socks should be discontinued. The author supports this claim by stating studies which indicate that customers buy new socks every 3 months, while another survey in their largest market reflects the popularity of trendy socks. As solid as the argument might seem, It relies on some assumptions which require further evidence to be proved warranted.

First, the claim relies on a recent study which states that despite the durability of the socks ensured by the Endure process, an average customer buys new socks every three months. The author hastily assumes that the motive behind buying new socks is the failure of the Endure process. However, customers may have different motives to buy new pair of socks like following the recent sartorial trends or simply misplacing them (Which is quite common in households). Until the reason behind customers buying new socks quite frequently is cogently illustrated, the author's assumption might not hold true. The author also mentions that the Endure process was advertised however the reach of the advertisements and the possible impacts on the customers are unknown. The author not only assumes that the durability process is being effectively advertised but also poorly presumes that the customers would understand the process to increase their faith in the product.

The author also states the result of a customer survey in their largest market, which shows customers value Duro-socks' trendy appearance with the availability of a myriad of colours. However, the results of the survey fail to correlate with the Endure process. The survey lacks statistics and is only conducted in a limited geographic region. The customers in the largest market may have different inclinations than the rest of the sales region. Even though the customers value the finesse of the socks more, it does not mean that durability is undervalued. Durability is always a sought-after trait in socks, and even though it might not take precedence over other factors, it is certainly pertinent.

Both surveys mentioned by the author lack numerical values to substantiate the claims. Both surveys mentioned do not indicate the scope of the study, the number of people surveyed or the authenticity of the study. The author implicitly assumes the surveys' validity and considers the results without asserting the details. Lastly, even if the above-stated assumptions prove to be true, the complete discontinuation of the Endure process might not be efficacious. The author's shaking assumption that stopping the durability process will result in profits may be unwarranted and contrarily it might even lead to a reduction of faithful customers leading to losses.

To sum up, the recommendation could reveal as accurate and wise. Still, with such a lack of evidence and without an explanation of the assumptions which substantiate it, it is impossible to carry out an evaluation. Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that stop[ing the Endure process will lead to an increase in profits for Duro-socks.