A recent study rating 100 college football players showed a strong relationship between their number of colds caught per year and their team's records. Of the players studied those who had the fewest colds had teams with the win/loss ratios that were, on average, 50% higher that teams with players that caught more colds. These results suggests that if a college football

team wants to win, it should recruit players that catch a lower number of colds per year than their peers.

Football is a popular sport in many countries. College football is popular sport in many Universities. Recently, a study claims that the win loss ratio of the college football is directly affected by the colds caught by the football players. The less the cold caught by the players more the winning chance of the team. This reasoning seems unwarranted because winning percentage of football depends upon the skill of the players, the management of the players by the coach, and the formation of the team as a whole rather than minor diseases like cold.

For any team to win, the players present in the team must have the necessary skills to perform well during competitive matches. As the study claims cold for the reason of loss, the team players are ignoring the fact that they are perfunctory about their game. If cold is the only reason for their loss, it would be the most shameful reason for their loss. Cold and flu are minor disease that at most affects a player for two weeks. But, the game goes for full season round the year. The whole reason for the loss in the entire season cannot be because of the cold caught by some players. The winning depends upon the skill of the coach to manage the players and the enthusiasm of the team as a whole to win the matches. If some major players got cold during some important matches because of which the whole moral of the team went down, then only whole season of the game might be affected. Thus attributing cold to the loss of some games does not explain the loss in the entire season.

I also see limitations in the study itself. Instead of getting information on the player's skill and practice they are doing on field, the study is more concerned about minor reasons of the player’s fitness. The study is not doing a proper research because either the people asking such questions are not being serious or the players are making an excuse about the bad performance by saying it is due to the cold. I am also not satisfied by the suggestion given by the study because nobody knows if the player is going to catch cold and impair the winnings of the team just by looking at the player during the selection process. Even if a player has cold during the selection process it does not mean that he does not have the skill and talent to play football. As nobody knows the future he might even be the most essential player for the winnings.

Therefore, instead of studying minor aspects of the player's that does not determine the win for the team, the study should mainly focus on the training's and skills possessed by the players. By giving the stats of the players overall fitness in the entire season and the way the coach is handling these players the study can make accurate decision about the win loss ratios of the college football teams.