Argument Essay

Sports in the news is important segment as many people are interested in sports news and follow it regularly. Obviously, removing this segment will turn many people away from the station. However, the manager’s notice that the drop in rating is just due to removing the sports segment is false because there may be other segments that people do not like or other radio stations might have made more creative decisions that attracted a lot of listeners.

By just sending a memo that reviving the Fred's sport will improve the ratings, the manager failed to access the overall content of the radio station. There may be other shows that people do not like, for example, some radio hosts are making racists comments in other programs but the manager is not taking these comments into consideration. Some of the shows may be worthless to listen to and people are tuning off the station. Thus, the manager’s inability of analyze the facets of other shows and how the audience are responding to other shows makes his argument illogical.

In addition to the inability to access the over situation of the station, there may be other radio stations that are making more creative contents and attracting the audiences. For example, inside the sports segment, along with the sports news, some station is also giving information on the emerging players and doing interviews with these players. Even in other segments they have added a celebrity talk show which attracts a lot of people in those stations. Hence, lack of additions of creative contents or new contents that attracts new audiences in the WAKM radio station might also be driving the listeners away from the station.

Besides failing to make more creative decisions, whole audiences members may not be listening to radio anymore. For example, YouTube and Netflix are some of the websites that are attracting a lot of people because of the new and original video contents. Podcasts also has a lot of new content because of which people are not listening to the radio any more.

Therefore, the inability of the manager to access what is happening within the station and believing that removing the sport segment is the major cause of the lack of audience of the station is unwarranted.