Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Choosing courses in universities can be overwhelming because the subjects you choose will determine which field you are going to work on and what you are going to be in the future. I agree the university should allow the students to choose courses that they are interested in studying because allowing the freedom helps them be more creative, both intellectually and financially.

Financial problems during university might be one of the major problem faced by students. They are not matured enough to get accustom to such pressure leading to some bad decisions like gambling and even robbery. Many stories of depression and suicide have broken out of some universities because of the financial burden the students face during their studies. Allowing them to choose specific courses, that they are interested in, might placate their financial burden. It also makes students financially creative as they start to learn how to manage money by figuring out expenses of a particular subject. For example, if choosing a specific subject requires frequent visit to different places and many tours, that the university does not fund, then it becomes an unexpected expense that the student may not be prepared for. So having the option to not select the particular course might help the student financially. Thus, choosing specific courses can save students from unwanted and extra expenditure.

Taking courses that you are interested in also helps to focus more on the subject matter bringing better grades rather than being confused on an extra subject. For example, if you want to study physics and pursuit career in physics then you must choose subject that helps you rather than creating extra burden. Choosing only the basic core subjects might also help excel in other creative activities like sports, art, music etc. helping you being more productive. Hence, focusing only on the desired subject might be a good option especially when you are going to dedicate your entire life on it.

Providing variety of options in the subject matter caters to those students that are not sure about their interest. They can choose a number of subjects, get a feel for it, and choose the courses that interests them the most. Making sure that you choose a right subject is very important because there are many people, even after completing their PhDs, who are not contended and pursuit career elsewhere. Thus, students undecided about their subject can take advantage of the options provided by the university.

In conclusion, students should be allowed to make a right decision about which course they study because for some it might just be a financial problem but for most it will be a decision that they will regret their entire life.