Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Many people believe that ruminating about our past is a waste of time as it does not provide any information, especially in this present age, where everything from technological advancements to our lifestyle is changing in a rapid pace. No matter how fast our life is changing, gaining past knowledge helps make important decisions about the present.

People are always thinking about their future. What is going to happen, how is my life going to be after 10 years etc. Since our brain is creative and imaginative it can fabricate many possibilities that might happen. This gives us a virtual satisfaction and we are completely enthralled by it. This type imagination does not lead to anywhere as we become smug about our present. Similar, if those imagined things does not happen they we become disheartened and hopeless. Failure is eminent in such situation. This will also effect the decisions we make in present. For example, a student imagines getting top scores and does not work hard in the present because he thinks that he has the top score. This behavior only will provide him with failure. Ruminating about the past activities, instead, would help the student because he can improve on those past events and never let it happen in the present. During this exam preparation he can revise his past exams and gain insights about his mistakes and improve his exam. Thus, thinking about past will help to be successful in our present.

Knowing about the past is helpful in sports as sportsmen need high level of motivation to succeed. If a player going through rough times in his play. Every move he makes is not helping him to succeed. He may be fit and worthy of win but the only thing lacking is the motivation. Then, past successes and events like the trophies he had won in his childhood, remembering his families smiles when he made those past achievements will be a very strong sources of motivation to be successful in his game. Thus in in the field of sports, remembering past events and successes will helps players psychologically.

Apart from the psychological motivations, knowing about the past is useful in the field of medicine and health. Many diseases are heritary and knowing the medical reports of parents and grandparents helps give insight about the diseases they had possessed. This will help the younger generations invaluable information about their body and save themselves from life taking diseases.

Since every person does not have a fruitful past and remembering those past events can bring stress and unhappiness in their life. For example someone might have lost a lot of money in the past and he just thinks about that drinks all day. People have taken their lives by thinking what they could have done right in their past. Instead of worrying about it in the present they should take valuable lessons from those mistakes and work hard to achieve lost success.

Therefore, getting valuable information about the past helps make valuable decision about our life and leads to the path of success.