It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts that it is for them to learn facts. Agree or disagree?

In the present age, people are flooded with information from all over the place. Whether it is from the news outlet or internet, people are overwhelmed with facts presented to them. Many people even believe that knowing facts and information as much as possible is enough for the development of the human society. I instead believe that understanding ideas and concepts is far more important especially for the progress of knowledge.

Humans have developed their intelligence by trial and error, constant experimenting and trying out new methods. If we were happy with the information given to us at a particular period of time and just learned about those facts and figures only, then we would not have gained this much intelligence. Learning just the facts means being limited to certain amount of information and thus limited exploration of new ideas. The fact that the human society has developed economically, socially, and in every other aspects of life indicates that at some period of time we have tried to understand new things and have tried to improve on the things that we have already known. This is possible only through understanding of the ideas and concepts previously known to us.

It is important for students to learn and understand ideas and concept rather than just memorizing the facts because trying to understand is a natural way for humans to lead to new information. This means trying to put knowledge into practice by implementing it in the real world. Thus, by doing so we might come across new things which we might explain by using previous understanding about the topic. For example, if Einstein had just learned the information about all the physics theories developed previously without trying to understand them then he would not have been able to develop new theory of gravity and gravitation.

While the facts are important, understanding the ideas and concepts helps in the development and creation of new information which is essential for the development of human beings.