To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckingham College crafted a memo in which he asseverates that Buckingham College should establish a number of new school dormitories in order to accommodate more new and prospective students. The author of the memo founded his argument on the basis of the current trends of Buckingham’s increased enrollment rate and therefore projecting that the number of students attending Buckingham College will have witnessed a double of enrollment in the next fifty years. He also asserts that the average rent of off-campus housing has been becoming less and less affordable for students and prospective students will be enhanced by arresting new dormitory facilities, thereby leading them to enroll at Buckingham College. Though the claim appearing appealing, the argument rests upon a want of several pieces of evidence that should merit further appraisal in order for the central augment to be validated and for the cited suggestions to succeed.

First and foremost, the author of the memo audaciously projects that Buckingham’s enrollment will double over the next fifty years. More evidence, or empirical data, is needed so as to justify whether such foreshadowing will likely arise. The enrollment of colleges is contingent upon a host of variables, such as tuition affordability, geographical location, facility equipment, professors’ reputes, job placements and the like. Since these factors are not, if not never, stable, one cannot readily adumbrate that the enrollment of Buckingham College will boom down the road. If a newer college is established in the town, it might compete with Buckingham for student enrollment, a scenario that might render the proposed new student dormitories useless. Accordingly, for the author of the memo to confidently argues that Buckingham’s enrollment will be in an auspicious upward, he needs to furnish with more data pertinent to future trends with regards to tendencies of students’ enrollment.

What ensues is the wanting of evidence in what truly invites prospective students to attend a school. Is it the reputation of the faculty on campus? Is it the quality of the education that students receive at Buckingham? Is it the support and accommodation, be it financial, emotional, or physical, that students receive from the school? Students finding the quality of education approbatory but that of school dormitories objectionable may be still willing to attend Buckingham since they have the latitude to choose not to live on campus. Therefore, without more robust evidence to corroborate that prospective new students will be more likely to be attracted by new student dormitories, the author’s claim is rather flimsy and readily compromised.

The last piece of evidence that should be aptly supplied and addressed for the argument in the memo is the rising average rent for apartments in the town where Buckingham College is situated. The author of the memo recommends that since the off-campus housing has become prohibitively costly, students are likely to be deterred from living off-campus. However, one critical piece of evidence needs to be proffered so that suggesting building more new student dormitories to accommodate more students can be deemed rational: the expense of on-campus housing. It is quite plausible that even the cost of the off-campus hosing has become higher in recent years, it is still far lower than that of living on-campus. In this case, few or students with financial or budgeting concerns might still opt to live in off-campus apartments. This would certainly make nugatory living on campus and building more student dormitories.

All told, specific evidence is in order for the central argument made by the author of the memo to become sound and foolproof. These pieces of evidence that are needed entail the information germane to the expected increase of the school enrollment, the actual causes informing prospective students’ decision of attending a particular school, and the expense of on-campus housing at Buckingham College. The author’s argument would be further strengthened and cemented, were these pieces of evidence supplied.