To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham.

Buckingham college is planning to build more number of dormitories to serve a better housing needs of the students, expecting the growth in enrollment and various other factors. Stated in this manner, the argument fails to mention several other factors as well as support the given reasons, on basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion relies upon assumptions, for which there is no clear evidence. thus, the argument is unconvincing, weak and has several flaws.

Firstly, argument mentions that based on current trends, the enrollment of new students is growing and is expected to be doubled by next 50 years, which leads to inadequate number of dormitories, that are existing, for accommodating the enrolled students. Here, the credibility of the growth rate mentioned is dubious. it is possible that the number of enrollments are increasing in next few years, but to say the definite growth of 100% in next 50 years is a little bit of stretch. also, the increase in number of students doesn't imply that number of dormitories required will also increase. Not all students require dormitory stay. they might stay off-Campus or the town might be their native place, which leads to no requirement of the housing service. Hence before correlating the increase in enrollment with the need of dormitories, they should look into various queries like how many students need dormitory services? how many students are from local place? etc. thus further analyzing the factor will give better clarity for the argument.

Secondly, argument mentions that the average rent for an apartment in the town has risen over past years which will make it un-affordable for students looking for housing. In an ideal market, if the average rent of apartment has increased then, the fees for the dormitories will also increase. also if average rent of apartments are high that doesn't imply that there are no apartments will low rent. also, it is possible that in certain area of the town the rent is very high whereas the rent in other areas are relatively low and cost effective, which leads to an unclear picture of average rent in the town. author needs to further looks into various facts like how many students are looking for off-campus housing service? how many housing services are present in near by area of Buckingham college? etc. which might give proper and accurate insights regarding the off-campus housing.

Thirdly, author mentions that attractiveness of a dormitory will lead to increase in enrollment numbers, which in turn will create the need of more dormitories. but the basic concept, that the student will enroll in a college just on the basis of appearance of the housing services is absurd. students enroll in college based on various other factors like subjects available, job opportunities, ranking of college etc. the attractiveness of dormitories would be most likely last factor for a student while choosing a college.

In summary, the argument is flawed and therefore unconvincing. it could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts and information. In order to assess the merits of certain situation it is essential to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors.