In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the passage claims that in the first survey to understand the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens the respondents had misrepresented their reading habits. The author’s conclusion is based on a survey on Waymarsh citizens, who said they prefer literary classics and a study which showed that public libraries in Waymarsh frequently issue mystery novels. However, the author has failed to provide cogent arguments to support the conclusion.

The author has made a fallacious assumption that the people who responded for the survey are members of the public library and issue books from there. There is however no proof to support this assumption. On the contrary, it is probable that the reading habits of the survey respondents are starkly different than those of the public library members. The survey respondents could be adults and senior citizens who prefer literary classics while the public library members could be children and young adults who prefer mystery novels. If such is the case, then the conclusion made by the author of comparing the two results is unwarranted.

Additionally, even if it is seen that the people who responded in the survey are members of the public issue, the question arises whether all of them issue books from there? The author has assumed that they do so without any proof to substantiate this claim. It is possible that the respondents do not issue books but movie and song DVDs/CDs which are often present in the libraries. It might also be possible that the respondents are inactive members of the library. Unless the author provides proof that the respondents of the survey are active library members and issue books from the library it would be fallacious to assume that they had misrepresented their reading habits in the survey.

Even when the author provides support for the questions raised above to support his conclusion, there is another important point that the author has condoned. Libraries are places from where people borrow books. It is possible that the survey respondents own books which are literary classics and hence do not need to borrow the same from the library. On the contrary, they may not possess mystery novels, which they issue from the library to satiate their reading habits.

The author has also made a dubious assumption that the public library members of Warmarsh are Warmarsh residents without any proof to support this assumption. The public libraries of Warmarsh could have a very good collection of books which inspires people from adjoining places to be members of these libraries. These people could represent a larger section of the library members whose reading habits are different from Warmarsh residents. Therefore, it would be fallacious to conclude that the survey respondents misinterpreted their reading habits.

To conclude, though at first glance he conclusion made by the author seems possible, an in depth analysis of the argument shows that the author has failed to provide sufficient evidence to support his claim. The questions raised above needs to be answered before a conclusion similar to that made by the author can be made about the respondents of the survey.