In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While the argument of the author looks quite enticing, but leaves several holes unfilled and interpretations unexplained, which if determined carefully, will lead to the other way.

The first point to highlight is the mention of the survey as the basis of the argument. While author claimed that most of the residents of Mason city chose water sports as their favourite among other sports pursuits, he failed to give any explanation about the nature of the survey. And there arises a plethora of presumptions about the survey. Like, what are the actual questions asked to the residents? Perhaps the choice given in comparison to the riverside activities was a generally boring activity, and if they had given the open hand, they would have chosen some other sports or activity. Similarly, one might posed that people were only interested in watching the riverside activity rather than actively taking part in it. Furthermore, if they were asked that whether they want to build a dam at the river or would like to devote the riverside for sports games, they would have picked dam instead. We do not know anything about the survey. In all these cases, the prediction of the author, that the sports activities at river would likely be increased, would go wrong. Hence, the author would fail in persuading the government to increase the budget for riverside activities with this much explanation of the survey.

Secondly, the author did not clearly mention the source of complaints regarding river's water quality. we do not know whether the complaints were repetitively generated by a resident, or received from several residents: if it had been sent by a single person, the whole cleanup plan would be the improper usage of resources. If we assume that the several people complaint about the river's quality even then the reason for cleanup activity has not been justified. It might have been possible that the smell and lowering of water quality was due to some natural smelling stones present at the riverside, in that case, the cleanup of the riverside would not likely preclude the problem as this is the repetitive process, and hence, the problem would sustain. As the author neither could prove the actual inclination of the residents towards riverside recreational activities, nor did he clearly mention the source of complaints, the author's prognosis about the increased usage of riverside looks absurd.

In short, it is no doubt incumbent on the government to support and take care of the nation's recreational activities, and if necessary, increase the budget for the activity the people like the most, but the author's argument does not only failed to undergird his supposition of residents' predilection towards water sports, but his argument also lacking the strong reasons for the government to increase budget for those water sports activities.