The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president in his recommendation claims that installing monitoring software in employees' PCs will increase their productivity. This argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the assumption that internet surfing is the only root for decreased productivity.

The argument fails to provide any justification that productivity of workers will increase when they stop waste their time playing games on computer. There are other ways to relax during work hours that does not include computer. It is known that employees like to take coffee or watercooler breaks. Hence, if the VP wants to improve situations the breaks have to be monitored as well.

Moreover, in the argument the author presumes that the work ethic will improve after these innovations. However, there is no evidence that it will be a case in this situation. Basic knowledge of human psychology and common sense suggest that installing of spying software on computers will not help to encourage diligence behavior.

Finally, the argument claims that monitoring internet use will help to increase profit. However, there might be other factors that affect company's success besides employees' Interne usage. For example, if the company is facing a bankruptcy because of bad investments then monitoring will not help to improve situation. To strengthen the author's argument there should be a survey or statistic that proves that insufficient internet usage is a main source for decreased profit.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions it fails to make a convincing case that monitoring employees' Internet use will improve their productivity and increase company's profit.