We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discounting the children’s book section, which will be probably becomes less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café.

After reading the essay prompt, we can definitely understand that Monarch Books is a well-known and successful bookstore: it has a large customer base, it has been in the same location for two decades and it has a wide and complete stock of books in various subjects. In the prompt, Monarch Books is suggested to open a café inside the stores, by doing this they will attract more customers. Nevertheless, in the following essay I will analyze what I consider to be the flaws in the argument and solution suggested by the prompt.

The author assures that opening a café would attract more customers. In the current situation there is not a clear statement that customer´s affluency has decreased because they do not have a café. A good measure to analyze customer’s affluency is simple tracking how many customers enter the bookstore and how many sales are done per day. If there is a noticeable decrease of the number of clients and number of sales, some measures must be taken at once.

It is a risky move to eliminate a complete section in the store. Children´s book are essential for the business. There is a worldwide tendency occurring right now that people are searching to return to basics, to indulge a simple and technology free life. Families with children are looking for outdoors activities, cultural doings, in general actions that prevent a child to be on a screen all day long. Right now, Monarch books offer that option to their clients. Parents are able to go with their children to enjoy a nice and didactical time in the bookstore.

Another important issue to analyze in the situation is what has happened to sales in Monarch Books from the moment that Regal Books opened a café.