Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future

Governments should always focus on the well-being of its people, that means preventing any problems for them. Even though I agree with the prompt mentioned in the essay, that “Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future”. I think that humanity and the world are behind in solving problems. Past Governments did not focus on solving either actual or future problems, and today we see consequences in our everyday life.

Sun-tanning became popular at the beginning of the 19th century, because it represented wealth and high social status. If you were tanned, it meant that you had time and economic means to go to the beach and enjoy time off. Nevertheless, it became a popular habit that was spread throughout the world. Sun burns, skin irritation and skin cancer started to appear within people that tanned regular. When that occurred, Government was concerned about the impact of sun exposing in people’s health. Government and private companies started an educational campaign. Nowadays, people are aware of the consequences when exposing skin in the sun, and people take precautions about it.

Global warming has been debated and researched in Governments for years, nevertheless proper action was not taken until recently. Unfortunately, experts agree that action was taken too late: animals, humans, and forests are suffering global warming. Polar bears are a clear example of global warming: North Pole is melting down and their option of survival is almost cero.

The previous are clear examples of how Governments did not address problems on time. They were seen as something that would become a problem in the far future and were not considered important. Today we are the generation that is going to bear all negative consequences. In spite of trying to resolve inherited problems, our generation is also going to be a victim of new problems. A good example to mention is the effects that cellphones are going to have in our health.

Right now, there are some diagnosed syndromes of the addiction that cellphones create on our everyday life, such as: FOMO (fear of missing out), constantly checking your phone, and being in touch with your contacts at all times. Nevertheless, we still do not know the effects of mobile devices in our body. Governments should focus in this problem and many other mores before it is too late for our health and our world.