"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above article, recommend that Monarch Books should open a café since it is in business for nearly twenty years and have large number of customers visiting their store, with a variety of books. Opening a café, will increase the number of customers visiting the store than the number of customers visiting now and would help Monarch café to compete with the Regal Books, who have just opened up a café. I agree with the recommendations with there are certain question needed to be answered before actually coming to a conclusion.

Firstly, opening a café would help the business for Monarch café, but a café would need space for the equipment necessary for the café, such as, chairs, chairs, tables, etc. Moreover, the café would need staff to handle the incoming customers and to fulfill their orders, which will also need space for the kitchen. The café staff would need training and increase in the expenditure for the café, which is one of the concerns.

To overcome the concerns of space, it has been suggested to drop the Children’s book section, since recent national census has stated a decrease in population under age ten. There is a flaw in the solution given for space, firstly, census is taken after every ten years, so till the next census it is possible that there might be an increase in population under age ten.

Secondly, it is not clear about the population under the age group who can have babies, so it is unclear, whether there will be no population under age ten. During the tenure of next ten years, the number of populations under age ten might increase and if the Children’s Book section is discontinued, there will be concerns related to Book section in future. A solution for space needs to be found so thatthe needs are sufficed for the expected results, alternatively, a smaller space can be allocated for Children’s section, as a solution for space. If parents with children wants to visit the Books store and café, they won’t be able to do so, since the Children’s section won’t be there.

The main essence of Monarch Books store, for having such a large customer base is that they have wide range of books, which has attracted customer for so long. Opening a café might increase the number of people visiting the store, who are visiting the café, hence concerns related to managing the crowd would increase. Thirdly it is said, opening a café would attract more customers and help the Monarch Books store to compete with Regal books, which has recently opened a café. Well it is difficult to foresee whether opening café would help boost the Monarch Books store business, which indirectly indicates whether opening a café would allow Monarch’s to compete with the Regal’s. There are various concerns about opening a café, which needs to be taken care of.