All the students of a nation should study the same curriculum.

Some of the people suggest that all the students of a particular nation should study the same standard curriculum until they enter college. If the schools were to teach the same standard syllabus throughout the nation, ideally there would be just one kind of public school across the country operated by the educational unit of the government. This is indeed an issue that can be advantageous as well as carry disadvantages in various aspects.

Teaching of the same standard syllabus to all the students will ensure a similar educational level to all. Though it accords with the right to equality to education of any democratic country but violates the right to freedom of an individual student. If the same syllabus is being taught to all the students of a nation, there will be an equal opportunity available to everyone, irrespective of the fact they are rich or poor, residing in a small town or a big metropolitan city. Parallely, this will affect the various private and public schools being operated in the various parts of the nation.

Introduction of the same syllabus for all the students of the nation in every school would take away the freedom of students to choose which school to opt for as there would be no difference between any of them. Every school has some peculiarity based on academic syllabus or extra-curriculars which present a criteria for students or their parents to choose from. The students are in a growing age during the school and should be exposed to the maximum number of opportunities to choose from and explore their area of interest. Restricting them to a curriculum decided by some authority having a particular mind-set would circumscribe their imagination and creativity and thus hamper the overall development of the individual.

Every student has his/her own strength and weaknesses. For instance, one student is interested in mathematics and the other one in history, each one would not be able to score well in the other subject if they are forced to study them. This would result in failure in a grade because of one subject they are not incline towards. This would inturn hinder their progress and prove to be of no use in the future even if the student manages to passes the subject somehow. The same thing applies to extra-curricular activities. A student interested in basketball would not prefer to play cricket if made mandatory and would do no good.

Therefore, in my opinion, it should not be compulsory to bring into force the same syllabus for all the students of the nation. They should be allowed to choose from a few options and made some options mandatory to study as they are still naive and need some direction to get started on with their lives.