All too often companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for company to operate more efficiently. If companies would spend more time listening to their employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The purpose of hiring a person for the job entails checking whether the skills of the candidate are in consonance with the requirement of the job, this is achieved through various ways of interviewing the candidate like telephonic, direct personal interviews etc. Consultancy is a role in which a person or a group of skilled professionals are hired chiefly to advise the company on various decisions and issues like internal matters and more importantly matters such as decisions regarding the future trajectory of the company, they thus hold a very important role and it wouldn't be an understatement to say that, a leading role in giving a direction to the company. That stated, nowadays a growing trend is being noticed in the industries to hire professionals outside their organisation and sometimes even consultants who have no prior experience of the concerned industry itself. This trend can undermine the long term interests of the company and also any industry as a whole.

My contention is that a person who has worked in the company is better equipped and is more aware of the internal dynamics of the company and how these internal dynamics of the company interplay with the overall market-dynamics which finally bring-about the overall picture of the industry in comparison to somebody or a group of consultants to whom the task of consultancy has been outsourced. This is buttressed even further by the fact that the outside consultants sometimes do not even have any relevant experience in the domain and are principally analyzing the company based on the superficial sales figures and the overall market conditions-data. Many a times it happens that as a result these outside consultants end up making suggestions which might look pretty on paper and worthy of bringing about the intended action, but when these suggestions are put into practice, there is a deep chasm between the actual implementation and intended output as a result of poor factoring in the human aspect of any organisation which is the employee force of the organisation which more often that not is not properly factored in by the outside consultants owing to their dissociation with the internal dynamics of the company. Here I believe existing employees of the company would be able to guide the company better in comparison to some armchair consultants sitting outside the organisation as they have a first hand idea and experience of working in the company.

Another essential thing which we must not overlook her is the fact that an employee of the company have seen different times in the company and the industry and thus have a first-hand experience of steering the company through different times thus prove to be better in the longer run. Whereas the idea of hiring outside consultants along with their argument of bringing in diversity to the company only looks good on paper not on the ground.