People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Quick and thoughtful decision making is an important skill which is required in today's world. A person skilled in good decision making thus has an extremely valuable asset which can help him tide through all kinds of circumstances on the account of his decision making skills.

Having stated the importance of decision making what really makes for a good decision maker?, On taking a closer look at a large number of successful people who can serve as a veritable source for our deductions on the issue, we would find out that a majority of such people today are attributed as successful purely based on their ability to take "objective" and rational decisions.

So what constitutes an objective decision or a rational decision?, Is it completely devoid of any emotion whatsoever? , Well to agree to this in full would be wrong whereas to refute it completely would be an even greater mistake. I would actually agree with the spirit of the statement in subject. Which means I do believe that "Overtly" emotional people over time do indeed prove to be poor decision makers specially those who on account of getting an unintended outcome as a consequence of their decisions try to justify their actions with some poorly contrived logic which doesn't hold much ground when looked under the lens.

If we gloss through history, it is replete with such examples of people for example let's take the case of white supremacists who held sway over the American population all the way till mid 20th century, when asked about the integration of black population by allowing Black and other Hispanic population being given equal rights and status as any white individual always used to block any such movements by falling back to emotional arguments(Emotional for the white population of their times) such as maintaining racial and religious purity in the whites by not intermixing with other races and falling back to religious arguments too which everybody knew did not stand the scrutiny even in those times. today as we all know how wrong those ideas were since giving more power to non-whites has helped America prosper a great deal and at an even increased pace in contrast to before. The World Wars being another extension of such a psychology which later on proved to be fatal for the entire humanity of the day.

Having agreed at length with the principle here i would maintain that the decisions taken by people which involve other people should not be taken by completely dissociating emotion since every decision has some collateral and when people are involved it is never intended that any human life should suffer as a consequence and a mean path should be taken.