An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The first thing which should be thought is whether this problem can be corrected by using some other type of subsidy or government help?

The answer to this question would help us see whether this problem of Vitamin deficiency can be tackled in any other possible way such as by educating the population about any other cheaper sources of Vitamin A which might already exist and people don't know about it.

Will the population be receptive to such a crop?

Adequate study needs to done to ensure whether the population is receptive to this and indeed buys this variety of millet by choosing it over the existing cheaper variety.

How much more expensive is this crop of millet in comparison to the existing millet for the farmers and the quantum of subsidies to the farmers only?

This question is significant since the quantum of price difference and along with it the amount of the difference in the price which is plugged in through government subsidies would help in ensuring that farmers don't stand to loose.

What is the yield of this crop of millet in comparison to the previous crop?

This question is significant for the farmers of this crop since yield of the crop directly affects the price of the crop to the end customers.

Whether this genetically modified breed of millet is clinically safe from any other unwanted health issues and sufficient amount of clinical trials have been carried out in this regard?

This question is important to ensure the health safety of the population which would finally ingest the crop as some such modified crops might carry risks such as being Cancerous etc.

How much more expensive is this crop for the customers and the quantum of subsidies to the consumers only?

How much more expensive is this crop of millet in comparison to the existing crop and amount to which the government will plugging the gaps for customers since the price would finally percolate down to the end customers who will buy the millet in the market.

What is the per capita income of people of tagus?

This is a significant question as, if the per capita income of the people of Tagus is already high then Vitamin A deficiency can easily be corrected through having other full quality foods such as meats etc which are slightly expensive.

Is there any other nutrients too in this crop?

This question is important to ensure that apart from Vitamin A this crop doesn't loose out on any other vital and essential nutrients present in the existing crop, as this if that is not the case then this crop since being a stable crop of Tagus can lead to some other deficiencies in the population

Whether this crop of millet is not susceptible to any other problems such as vulnerable to pests, Environmental changes?

Is this crop export quality too?

This question is important since if this crop is export quality then essential foreign exchange can be earned by exporting this crop which could also finance the subsidy aimed at this crop.

How intensive is the government's promotion for this product?

This question is important to gauge the intensity of intent of the government so that this idea does not loose steam while implementing is and whole plan goes awry.