Best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

The issue mentioned in the question is one of the most significant ones faced today by the branch of teaching which deals in the methods and manners of teaching. This branch is also called as “Pedagogics” wherein analysis is done on the ways of teaching and new and better scientific methods of teaching are devised and at the same time any flaws in the existing system are tried to be eliminated in order to help the students understand better and more importantly increase the learning happening through various ways of teaching at different stages in a student’s life. The issue apart from the education community also faces us human beings in different walks of life in general for example any person trying to self learn some skill, or this question would also hold significance for a prison inmate too who is being reformed while serving his sentence but here obviously the teaching is of a different kind but still pertinent to our question.

Having defined the contours of our question let me get down to the specifics and my point of view on it would be that, Yes the better way to teach any human being facing any situation In life would be to praise his positive actions but should we at the same time ignore completely his negative ones as well, Well there is some grey area there. Learning is an outcome wherein a person is able to get something into his/her conscience and apply that knowledge to anything which can vary from some task, to some general observation and build on something from it. Now numerous researches show that learning best and to the most optimum levels happens when the human brain is in a good or a happy frame of mind. This frame of mind cannot be achieved if the person is constantly feeling bogged by any negative feeling and emotions. Praising a person’s positive actions not only improves learning but also increases the levels of the confidence in the person which further enable the person to be able to apply that acquired knowledge and realize the full potential of this acquired knowledge. Not doing so at the same time can lead to a disaffection of the person from the task and a simultaneous dissociation from the task which is completely unasked for.

At the same time let me maintain that learning wherein the negatives are completely ignored would not help much in the persons overall knowledge as ignoring the negatives can lead to a person being completely unaware of his failing which will further hamper the chances of achieving even greater amounts learning . I feel that although we should never over-emphasize the failings but at the same time there should be a general cognizance of the failures which would lead to a greater value addition to the task of learning which is being undertaken. This will lead to a wholesome growth in the individual.