To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author of the statement points out that a successful leader must follow the highest ethical and moral standards. While, in general, I concur with such an assertion, as leaders who maintain high ethical standards can be the role models of their people. However, a relentless pursuing of the highest moral behaviours may also lead to undesired results.

Admittedly, political leaders’ moral standards do have a crucial impact on their political career. For example, Donald Trump, the Republican nominee of 2016 president election of the United States, are now facing an overwhelming criticises about his previous insult of women. Many people even claim that whether they should let their children to see the news about Donald Trump, who has a very low standard of his moral behaviours, because they are afraid of their children being wrongly guided by Trump’s saying and behaviour. Thus, it is important for government officials to maintain high standards of their behaviours, because people, especially the young generations, tend to micmic their leaders’ words and behaviours. If the leaders’ behaviours are criticised severely, they may even not have the chance to wield their power to develop the society.

However, every coin has two sides. If people emphasise too much on the proper behaviours of political leaders, it may have an opposite effect on the society. The main obligations of a government and its officials should be economic prosperity, cultural flourish and the high living standards of people. If the public set too much regulations on their leaders, they are more likely to behave what the public want instead of scientifically planning for the long term development of the society. Moreover, it is almost impossible that public officials always behave properly, as they are also common people to some extent.

In my point of view, our society should figure out a more comprehensive evaluation system for public officials. Such a system need to add moral behaviours, economic development and ordinary people's living standards into consideration. To achieve the standards listed above, officials will maintain a balance between their daily behaviours and the economic and cultural tasks which are more important to ordinary people. In this way, the pursuit of high moral standards is based on the development of the society instead of condescending it.

In sum, requiring public leaders to maintain the highest moral standards is totally unnecessary, instead, officials should behave properly in front of the public, but more importantly, their main focus should be the prosperity of the country.