To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

The statement asserts that the highest ethical and moral codes are necessary for a public official to become an effective leader. First of all, the phrase “ethical and moral codes” needs to be clarified. It is certain that they apply when the civil servants are on duty. However, do they apply to personal life or under special circumstances? To answer the questions, I do not fully agree with the argument.

Admittedly, policies established by a public official known for his or her highest ethical and moral codes carry more weight and effectiveness. When the civil servant demonstrates candid political or administrative activities, the general public follows his or her lead with confidence no matter how hard it can be. Singapore is a famous country because of its various fines for peccadilloes. For example, Smoking in every places and possession of gums are all subjects of fines. However, most people in Singapore do their best to comply all tedious regulations because they believe that the public officials maintain even higher ethical standards in both public and private lives and enforce the laws for the greater good of the nation. In the recent study done by OECD about the corruption index of its member nations, Singapore is placed in 6th among all members of OECD in 2017 and it is considered as the most corruption-free country in Asia.

On the contrary, the high ethical and moral standards are not the required virtue for a good leader. Every civic servant has high morality does not always become effective. Even though the leader has a few flaws in his or her personal life, that doesn’t necessarily mean the leader’s incompetent. Thus, ethical norms and effectiveness are not correlated with each other. For example, Bill Clinton, the 42nd president of the United States, was named one of the most successful president thanks to the peace treaty between Israel and Palestine and rapid economic growth during his terms although he was under investigation by the special prosecutor for perjury and sex scandal. If the highest moral standards were required to be a successful leader, President Clinton would not have achieved anything through his presidency.

Furthermore, there may be special circumstances that leaders have to make a decision against their ethical codes. Especially, if the leader governs the nation, he or she will certainly face situations that the public officer has to lie to the public for the greater goods, such as national security. Some say that this is the violation of the constitutional right, right to know; however, it may jeopardize not only the situation but lives of the citizens, whom the leaders have sworn to protect. For instance, when Barak Obama was the president of the United States, there was the operation to assassinate or capture Osama Bin Laden, the most wanted terrorist after 9.11. While the operation was taking place, the White House was questioned about the operation and whereabouts of the SEAL team. The spokesperson was instructed by the president not to comment on the operation and to lie about the SEAL team. When the White House announced the result of the operation to the public, no one blamed the president for lying.

To sum, I do not fully agree with the author’s statement that the public official must have the highest moral and ethical codes. Although good morality sometimes helps for leaders to become effective, two virtues are not directly correlated as a cause and result relation. We may expect the public officials as leaders to be ethical and competent at the same time; however, it is not true that they must have two different virtues to become effective.