The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Leadership in any particular field requires a lot of qualities, and can hold key to the success of any task. That being said, a key quality that leadership must inspire in any group, is team work or co-operation. Team work or co-operation helps employ the divide and rule method and thus complete onerous tasks in quick time and with great efficiency. Thus, in my opinion it is of greater benefit to instill a sense of co-operation in young people to prepare them for leadership rather than asking them to indulge in never ending competition.

Good leadership is always marked by sensible and informed decision making. Naturally, to take an informed decision the leader must think of his whole team or his firm while taking any decision on their behalf. Moreover, it is important for a leader to take into account different opinions of various people in his team or organization, thus helping inspire co-operation. For instance, if the leader of a country considers only his personal benefit or the benefit of his state while making a policy for the entire nation, he would have failed as a leader. Similarly, if a team's captain in football is obsessed with scoring a goal by himself and thus is blinded to the opportunity of making a key pass, he would have foundered a great chance for his team. Citing the said arguments, it can be fairly concluded that co-operation is a quality that is extremely essential for a good leader to possess.

Competition, especially when taken personally is harmful for any leadership. It is important for a leader to understand that the decisions that they make have implications far wider than just relating to their personal interests. Also, competition more often becomes subject to satisfying one's ego rather than trying to perform better and thus can blind any person to the wider implications of their actions. An example of a cricket game where the team is in dire need of runs but the batsman is playing at a slow rate for his personal landmark helps explain this connundrum. Thus competition is often ha

Although, healthy competition provides conditions which help all the competing parties to grow and improve their skills in any given field. One must therefore have healthy competition and not make it their sole aim to perform better than others, but concentrate more on improving themselves.

It's been made extremely lucid throught the given arguments that while healthy competition might help bolster one's skills, a sense of co-operation is of paramount importance to prepare the young people of society for leadership.