The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

I totally agree that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions but only to certain extent. To teach is to engrain a good amount of knowledge and values in the student which later delineates that he has good sense of decorum. Students are like wet cement. Whatever values and manners they are taught in their adolescent age their results are reflected in their future life.

On the contrary, if a student misbehaves or commits something wrong it is the responsibility of his teacher to make him aware of his unacceptable action. This is important because unless and until if that student isn't aware of his actions and their result, he will always be under the thinking that whatever he does with whomsoever is correct and acceptable even if it is indecorous. Some students do not need any teacher or mentor to emphasize their mistakes or wrong actions which they happen to commit. If a student is always being praised by teacher it leaves no room for him to understand his mistakes and take action in order to improvise it.

There are multiple ways of teaching. It is totally agreeable that learning should be enjoyable and full of enthusiasm. Some teachers condone improper behaviour of student so as to maintain an image of good teacher within students which is totally wrong. If students are not getting realisation of their improper behaviour they won't get ready to accept their mistakes which they will commit in future. It's entirely teacher's responsibility to understand where to praise student and where to reprimand them. Teachers should have that level of understanding to how much extent a student should be praised or reprimanded.

Some students if reprimanded harshly take things in a negative direction and declare by themselves that a particular teacher who critisized them in improper. The responsibility of this attitude comes directly to parents of that child who always supported him for his wrong behaviour because as we say our home is our first educational institution.

In the conclusion I would like to state that praising a child on his decorous behaviour is advantageous but reprimanding them on their improper behaviour is more advantageous. The only thing is that teachers and parents should know the ways and the extent of critisizing a mistake or praising a moral action or behaviour.