Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Interacting with humans who share different beliefs than one’s known can be intellectually stimulating. One who possesses thoughts such as the one expressed in the claim is likely to stick in their very own bubble, leaving no room for growth and debate.

It is true that disagreement can cause stress, however that will not necessarily inhibit an individual’s ability to learn. In fact, debating and arguing will enable the person to take in a different belief, a different perspective, all the while diminishing that person’s ignorance. For example, take a debate between a religious person who does not believe in evolution, and a non-religious person who does believe in evolution. It is true that at some point, the debate may cause discomfort for both individuals. However, it is likely that the non-religious person will gain insight into the other person’s religion, and potentially understand a little more about that faith and spirituality. Likewise, the religious person may learn new things about Darwinism that he/she may have not taken into consideration before. Both people may leave the debate feeling extremely irritated, yet they will most likely have new information to think about and dwell on. Even if they do not necessarily agree with that information, it is still important that they are aware of and acknowledge another person’s perspective on things. Additionally, an ideal situation would have both people find a common ground and agree that religion and science can in fact co-exist.

If one were to limit themselves to only interact with others who share the same views, it is likely that the person will acquire very little knowledge about the world. The world is ever-changing, and contradictions will always arise. One who thinks veganism is the correct lifestyle to live will learn nothing by surrounding him/herself with only vegans. That person most likely knows a lot about veganism already, hence it would be more intellectually stimulating to sit with meat eaters and understand why they eat the way they do.

It is also important to note that stress does not inhibit learning, in most cases. If that reason were true, then most educational institutions would be inhibiting their students’ learning. In fact, schools and universities are never void of stress. Examinations, oral presentations, and quizzes are all examples of stressful situations that are meant to challenge the student. If the students were not faced with stressful situations, they would not be able to survive in a world that is consistently throwing challenges their way. Hence, interacting with individuals who possess different beliefs will lead to stress, but that stress is necessary for the person’s growth and adaptation in this world.

In order for a person to grow intellectually, it is essential for him/her to interact with others who share different views. Although that interaction may lead to stress, stress is a vital force that leads to growth and adaptation.