Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Many would agree that a diversity of opinion can lead to greater knowledge of a concept, a work, or a subject. However, for this to be true, a specific object should be the point of disagreement, not an underlying perspective. For example, two people who have read the same essay and have different opinions on the content can discuss it and perhaps broaden both of their views. However, if two people read the same essay and one of them hated reading entirely, neither would learn much from the experience, simply because the two people would have no common ground. We do often learn better from those whose views we share, but this is not due to the stress that disagreement brings. It is because two people must have at least some common ground to learn from each other, and totally opposing perspectives will lead each side to believe more firmly in their own point of view, learning nothing.

Dissension is sometimes necessary for advancement; when Copernicus discovered that the earth goes around the sun, he was ostracized for his view. However, people with entirely opposing attitudes will not learn from each other because their views are incompatible. For example, a left-leaning student in America would not be able to learn from a Trump-supporting teacher simply because that difference would cause the student to feel unable to trust other things the teacher taught because their opinions clashed so strongly in other areas.

Furthermore, those with different views may feel that they are not able to respect each other. A teenager with a strong inclination toward environmental preservation likely would not be able to easily learn from a businessman whose company spills oil into the ocean, even if the businessman was several times his age and had lengthy experience in his field. However, the teenager would not feel that the stress of their disagreement stopped her from learning; instead she would consider it a choice to close herself off from the teachings of such untrustworthy sources.

Lastly, a fundamental disagreement between two people often end with each person leaving the conversation more convinced of his or her own correctness than he or she was before. For example, two of my roommates recently had a disagreement because one believed the other was messy, while the accused firmly believed that she was not. Despite a long discussion and some tears, neither was convinced by the other, and both left the discussion more firmly entrenched in her own belief. However, the disagreement was preserved not by the stress of the situation but by each girl’s stubbornness and refusal to see things another way.

Most adults should feel able to handle a discussion where the other person disagrees with them; we get used to that sort of stress over the years. However, one cannot learn so easily from someone who he or she does not agree with because the opposing viewpoints indicate a deeper incompatibility of their views, which may lead to disrespect or obstinacy and therefore can staunch the flow of knowledge.