Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Learning is about sharing of ideas. We learn a lot from the experiences that others share. As the prompt claims, we can learn much more from people with similar views as ours than from those whose views contradict our own and the reason attributed to the claim is that disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning. I totally agree to the claim presented here for three reasons.

To begin, ideas shared with a person of similar mind frame or thinking as of ours makes it easier for the flow of ideas between the two as well as acceptance of them. For instance, when we are sharing ideas with a person of same frequency, the sharing and learning is seamless. We are able to grasp most of it and are generally ready to learn from the person. There is an agreement on most of the ideas and we are ready to accept and implement those with no or less reluctance. The above example illustrates that the flow of idea and learning from those is mostly seamless when shared with a person of same view point as ours.

Further, when the ideas is shared between individuals of different viewpoints, it may cause disagreement and no one accepts the others idea, making the conversation fruitless and eventually leading to no learning, even may lead to fight. For instance, we regularly observe the difference in viewpoints of different political party leaders. They are never at same page with their views. Even if, the opposition is proposing a measure that is good for the welfare of society, the party in command will never agree to it, which eventually leads to fight. From the above example, it can be observed that there is generally no learning between individuals with different viewpoints, and worse, the discussion may convert into argument.

Finally, even if two individuals with different viewpoints are sharing idea and are ready to learn from them, at some or the other point of time, there will be disagreement and the whole learning from the sharing will go in vain. Even if, the difference in ideas do not lead to disagreement and individuals learned from each other’s ideas, there are good chances that the learnings will not be implemented into their lives because of different viewpoints.

It is important to share the ideas between individuals for learning each other’s view points and experiences, but it is fruitful mostly when the sharing of ideas is between individuals of same thought process.