College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.
The issue being discussed focusses on a very generalised topic that the students should choose their career in those fields where there is abundance of jobs.
The college education gives the choice to the students to opt for the respective course however the immediate option of the jobs may not be available in their
field of study.
I am of the firm view that it is the interest and penchant of a particular student in a particular subject which should be the driving force in choosing the field of study rather
than the immediate gratification on getting by the job. Because the excellence in the field can only be attained only when the student devotes his steadfast dedication
to the field of his interest. History is replete with examples that the greatest of inventions have been made only when the scientist or the researcher have
devoted their life on a particular field of study. It was only the love for the nature and to observe the things that provided the impetus to Newton
to postulate groundbreaking laws of gravitation.
The field of Engineering and Medical attracts many students for the easy availability of jobs. But the quality of the engineers and medical students have never been very
enthusiastic. There should also be a research on the quality of jobs available in the field of the choice.
However, it has been observed that easy availability of jobs in a particular field attracts students due to the constraints of finances. If the students is
financially not sound it will be imperative for him to opt for the subject which can easily fetch a quick job for him just after completing his/her studies.
Hence it can be easily inferred that though there may be easy availabilty of jobs in a particular field but the quality may not be superior.
The students should focus on their interest before choosing the field of study. Only when they are satisfied that they can devote themselves in a particular field and
contribute significantly into the field of their choice, then they should make the final decision.