Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The prompt urges the educational instituitions require their students to complete at least one semester studying in a foreign country. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "mostly agree" with the concept and hereby obliged to provide necessary elaboration of certain viewpoints in defense of my position.

From the very first thing we need to speculate here is that - the prompt is actually taking consideration of the university going students and more or else the tertiary educational instituitions. The idea to complete one semester for the students is meant - to complete the whole semester for a student in the foreign country where he or she can introduce himself or herself with the available sources of that country for application based learning. Not many countries in the world are famous for all the contemporary things. For example - Germany is famous for automobile sectors, United States of America is famous for their higher research output, Sweden is famous for their energy sector and renewable energy consumption and so on. It is also paralled that one faculty of a certain field of country might not be as good as the same of another country. So, if a student is provided with the opportunity to study that certain field to the better equipped country then he or she will be more open to knowledge and facilities. The concept of this student study in foreign country can be materialized in two ways. One is the students become part of an exchange programme between two countries where both of those countries will exchange their respective students with the other. Second one is through mutual decision making; where the respective authority of a university will take necessary steps for maintaining all the commodities and officialites to provide the students with better equipped environment in a foreign country; better than their own ones in that certain field, in order to enrich their knowledge and views.

The best part of this type of programe is that a student can come to learn a lot. When a student comes to complete one semester, which is about four to five months long, in most cases - in a foreign country he gets ample time to mix with the more sophisticated environments of his pursued filed than he normally gets in his country. In most cases - it will be a more developed country or possibly more developed in a certain arena - where the university will try to provide their students with opporunity to learn. Because of getting a good exposure to the things the students would have learned in a relatively less preferable or less accomodated environment, will help them to learn more passionately. Consequently, the knowledge will help them to grow in that certain field. Apart from that - in most cases the better equipped countries have the better exmaple of applications and because of getting access to those application based learning in their respective courses will help them to advance much than they would have been if they were to learn in their own country - where those advanced application based learning or equipments might not be available. Alsop the fact that - when a student completes one semester in a foreign country he will be more close to the enviornment and culture of the host country and their people. He will gain more prudency after being accompanied the other students of those hsot countries. All of these will eventually help him to learn and grow - not only in just his respective field but also in his forthcoming career.

Questions can be asked about the necessaity of this exchange or policy of sending students to foreign country to complete one semester, such that - what is the need for this if a university has good enough teacher to deliver lecture and sufficient equipments to conduct application based works. It might be correct in a macro sense that there might not be that much necessity to complete a semester in a foreign country because of the costs as well as if there is no urgency to do so. But the beauty of this type of programe does not lie only into the delivering of speech by the teachers in the class or the syllabus of the class. It is more vas than this as students will have their outlook broaden by this type of program. They might be disabused by many things they previously is worthy of. They can know more about the ongoing research or works around the world. All these are necessary for a full developement of a student that can only possible iof he is presented with such an opportunity.

So, looking at all the viewpoints presented above it can be safely said that the idea of requiring students to complete one semester in a foreign country is worthy of making as it will work only for the benefits of the students.