Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Keeping the employee's conversations with outside world controlled and effective should be the main goal of management. Some misconduct, misbehaviour or use of informal and abusive words can be the cause of a lawsuit filed against company. I agree with the statement that for some cases, it is necessary to conduct routine monitoring, but not for all employees. As the company's working environment and heirarchy is similar to that of any democratic govenment, there are some departments which shold allow email-corresopondence without constraints.

The employees, working with the department of customer relation or complains and services, should be monitored by management. This are the departmens which uses the email more frequently then any other departments. It is vital to maintain consumer trust, a slight misconduct or misbehaviour, might term in to a lawsuit or defamed reputation of company.

Moreover, the conversations related the services and complaints, are not require entire chat to be stored once the issue has been solved. If there is a way to store just the important information like what was the issue, who and when solved it, is enough to stay protected in any future altercation with customer. Using just the epitome of information only require tenth part of total conversation and save a lot of money, time and space. In addition, it is easy to scroll through this kind of aggregated information for statistics and searching particular case, as it gives a standardise format.

However, some department of company operate in shadows, like government realtions, the department which operate with the holdings of company, the department related to the policies of the company, the risk mitigation department. These department requires some anonymity to operate properly, for instance, consider that the company is moving towards bankrupssy, and comapny has no resouces to prevent that in near time, so the risk mitigation department comes up with a plan of getting a loan for 1 year, and by that time company will be again out of trouble. If that information will be known by other employees, how will they react, will they stay in the job for 1 year, there will be chaos.

In a nutshell, monitoring the e-mail correspondence of empoloyee is good practice as far as private information is not concern, because it will be violation of personal rights. However, there should be some freedom given to departments, which are require to operate in anonymity.