Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Does the competition for high scores in the schools prevent students from getting quality of education? I concede that in some situations that competition may have a side effect which is harmful for the students. But in most situations the competition is a good method for students’ learning in each level of education.

Firstly, I concede that too much competition among the students may be a big pressure to them, which may affect the quality of education. They may only pay attention to get the highest scores in the class and ignore the relations between his classmates. They may only be interested in the contexts which will be asked in an exam and therefore cannot learn the knowledge which is useful in the real world.

Asides such situation, a appropriate utilization of competition is good for students for studying in each level in the process of education. To the student in primary school, the competition for high grades, such as a competition of drawing picture or reciting the words learnt in the last class, can encourage them to learn with motivation. In other worlds, the competition can motivate them to learn, because they do not want to be the one who is left behind in the class. Besides, if a student wins a competition once, she/he may feel more confident and have more motivation to learn. If we do not make some competition among them, they may just learn passively.

In high school, the competition is more useful. To most colleges and the universities the general standard to assess the ability of the freshman is their grades such as the score of SAT. the competition in high school can stimulate their desire for a higher score in an exam. For example, after my high implied a competition in exams among students, our grades increased 20%. With these higher grades, we could choose better university which means a better education environment in the future.

And when they go to college, the competition among the campus can make students improve the quality of learning in two ways. The first one is that they can learn methods of studying to adapt the competition. these methods allow them to learn effective. The second is that they can accumulate the experience about how to deal with the competition such as how to get an advantage in a competition, how to be relax in the competition.