Critical judgement of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

The world is progressing at a tremendous rate which has resulted in cut throat competition among people. Everyone wants to excel in their fields and work to the best of their abilities. This has resulted in the division of education in specific narrow streams which provided specializations in just one course. Students invest many years in accumulating knowledge about their stream so they can play their part in the world’s development. So the student of one field will not understand the technique, the nuances and the mammoth effort that goes into the development of a product in the other field. Hence critical judgements which do not belong to the specific field should be definitely be considered but should not be thought about much since the people do not understand the know-how of that field. Hence the feedback of the work done in a specific field is of utmost importance if received from an expert in that field.

Our history is a testimony to many such examples where the layman without much knowledge in a field tries to make a comment and voice his opinion which, at many times have been rendered futile. In the early 18th Century, Copernicus and his adherents, through extensive research tried to prove that Earth is not the center of the universe and it is one of many other celestial bodies that revolve around the sun. This fact was not accepted very well among the masses and Copernicus was ostracized from the society by the church and the cathedral. However, later with the support of Gallelio, he went on to prove that his hypothesis was infact true. Hence one should not impart a lot of weight to the views of the outsiders of the field.

Consider, for instance, the field of sports. Why are the coaches of the teams or an individual the expert in that field? Because he would be the best to understand the game and help the talent grow by pointing out the exact flaws in his game in the correct manner. One of the legends in the game of football, Cristiano Ronaldo in one of his interviews asserted that whatever he has achieved is solely because of the critique received by him from his coach, Sir Alex Fergusan, whom he considers to be his football father. Football, being such a widely accepted, loved and adulated sport, many people who were not professional soccer players tried to comment on Ronaldo’s game. Among these two views presented in front of Ronaldo, the comments and feedback of Sir Alex gained more priority against the views from the public because Sir Alex was no novice, he knew all the details and intricacies of the sport and could help Ronaldo a lot more by sharing his knowledge about the game.

Our society is continuously changing and evolving. A lot of progress has already been made in all the fields, be it science, arts, or economics. Specializing in a field has become mandatory. These specializations have limited the limited the amount of a field being encompassed and deep knowledge about a specific phenomenon is imparted to a student. A masters student of dermatology will not know the details about cardiology even though both are considered to be included in the field of medicine and biology. For a person to advance in his particular field, the feedback and approval from an expert in his field becomes a must. The expert, through many years of experience has gained immense amount of knowledge which could be used to the benefit of the student.

However, one cannot take the opinions of the outsiders of the field for granted. Consider, the film fraternity for example. They make a film for their audiences and hence the feedback received from them is extremely valuable. The content that the audience wishes to see should be presented to them. How can one ignore the feedback of their consumers? If your end product is going to be used by consumers finally, their considerations of the product must be taken into account to make the product better. This feedback from the consumers and the knowledge of the experts must work in synergy for the advancement of work in a particular field.

In conclusion, though feedback from everyone, be it an expert in the field or a novice or even an outsider, should be considered but utmost amount of importance should be given from the valuable feedbacks and critical judgements received from the experts of a particular field since they have a knowledge and understanding of a field that nobody else possesses.