Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether the judgement is useful from someone who is not an expert in that field can be evaluate from many aspects. However, the layman sometimes can point to the blind area where the experts can hardly notice.

Those who argue my stand contend that only the experts know enough knowledge and can make practical suggestion, however, those who dive into the field can ignore the secular side of the field. For example, when considering education system change and revitalization, experts like professors may demand teachers in the senior and junior high schools to design more interesting experiments and eliminate the dogmatic teaching in order to encourage students’ motivation, but without rudimentary information, students cannot understand what the purposes about the experiments, not to mention those students who do not like science, those extra experiments will push them away even farer.

Moreover, experts sometimes can use the most orthodox way to solve problems while normal people can think of a more easy and strait solution. Take Covid-19’s prevention for example. Experts and governments encourage people to wear masks and offer a series of relating advice to eliminate the serious of the pandemic. Nevertheless, the most effective way is to stay at home that most people without a specific medication license can realize. Most of us are not experts, but if we judge the governments to hold giant celebration and encourage people to go out with masks instead of make people stay at home, this has a big value and very sensible.

Acerbic judgement only from the field can tarnish the field since only the people in that region can connect to the work and lead to less improvements. Take clothing design for instance. Those high fashion and fast fashion are from specific artists and offered to customers who are not experts on art. If only the art designers can judge the products like new boots and high-tech shirts, those works can be very delicate but not convenient for usual wear. Soon, the brand will be closed because only the experts in the region admire it and the target buyers are driven away by the useless products with pioneering outlook. None-experts are the art products’ main supporters, to ignore their judgement make no sense at all.

In sum, critical judgement from other fields of people is helpful at many sides because the clearer view and can think outside the box. Treating the advice from none-experts is fruitless can cause the field’s demise as the example above.