Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

While evaluating a work, it can be inarguably stated that the work should be judged critically. However, since a person can't be the jack of the all trades, it often creates a dilemma about the judgment of a work from a specific field. The prompt asserts that if the assessment is not done by an expert in that area, it actually holds less value. I personally agree with the perspective of the author's claim and I would like to explain my viewpoint with three specific reasons.

First of all, if you demand for critical judgement it is actually not possible by a possible by a man without enough expertise in that area. More specifically, people without sound knowledge may not make a thorough evaluation of the work, just make a quick check without going to the details. For example, if any student wants to check his college level mathematics by his English tutor, he might not give him the required feedback. Similarly, if the mathematics tutor is asked to solve the puzzles of an English literature, he might feel it abstruse and difficult for him. As a consequence, both may check the work in a rush and just evaluate the work from a narrow perspective. Although it might help the student to improve his work, major points might remain unchecked and unresolved. Therefore, if anyone really wants to get a proper and comprehensive feedback about his work, there is no alternative than checking his work with the help of an expert in that field.

Secondly, the number of specialists in specific area will gradually decline and the country will face troubles when it requires to solve sophisticated problems. Precisely, when a task of a particular area is checked and graded by a person from another area, it diminishes the need for the area of expertise. Rather, more people will be exhorted to have the rudimentary knowledge about many fields to utilize them for making critical judgements. For instance, a police officer may start punishing the rule breakers, a teacher might involve in politics and so on. Consequently, when the country needs sophisticated knowledge of an expert to solve a particular problem, it might not have any specialized person. Therefore, a non-technical person should never be hired to judge a technical work and vice-versa.

Furthermore, if any specialized task is judged with the help of a person without sound knowledge about it, he may add some negative consequences to the work. For example, the nuclear reactors and the atomic bombs were discovered for the sake of protecting the sovereignty of a country. However, due to its' proven negative consequences, the nuclear reactors are redesigned and atomic bombs are recreated with less harmful impact for the future generation. If the opinions from the experts are not involved there, the world might see many more deleterious consequences of the nuclear reactions. Therefore, critical evaluation of an expert in that field is crucial and can't be performed with the help of a general person.

To sum up, although self or peer judgement is often encouraged to evaluate a work, it actually holds no water when it is required to assess the work critically. From the above mentioned points, we can conclude that, in terms of critical inspection, experts' judgement is mandatory.