Education systems should focus more on imparting practical skills than on teaching theoretical knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Practical knowledge here refers to hands-on skills, or know-how of a person, where he/she can undergo physical usage of his/her skills. Example is seen in the roughnecks at the foot of a rig, where they know how to set a casing right above a drilled well, before the driller lowers the casing automatically; Theoretical knowledge here refers to the readable aspect of knowlege, which does not require, or utilise hands-on activity. Example can include learning the three laws of motion in class, or textbook.

Both knowledge characteristics, when thought of as two different stream, might lead to this conclusion, of one being better or more necessary than the other. However, these are actually interwoven, and can even be thought of as interdependent, as on the very foundations of the three laws of motion is the ability of a car to move dependent, since we now understand the concept of friction, how best to overcome, and use it. In the producing of oil and gas, there are two main purposes: supply energy, and make profit, all whilst ensuring laws are not defaulted. Before one actually knows how to identify hotspots, one has to have read and understood the rudiment of the subsurface and the guiding principle, else we risk actually producing oil now, and causing more grevious problems later. Also, these rudimentary knowlege, known as theoretical is the reason a reservoir engineer would know, after studying production profile, that economic limit has been achieved, or surpassed.

Some might argue that theoretical knowledge is no more necessary because everything has been automised, and one need only to apply, hence practice, but whats happens when these automated functions stop? It is the indepth understanding of this theoretical knowledge that we will harness/consult to understand and identify the root cause of the fault, before we can solve the issue

Conclusively, practical and theoretical knowledge are not independent of each other as earlier explained above; The successful application/usage of practical skills is rooted in the above-average understanding of the governing principles and constraints, herewith understood as the 'theoretical knowledge'. A good balance of both knowledge, is the most preferable teaching.