Essay topic 26: The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The greatness of a nation depends on various criteria including economy, science and social assessment. Evaluating a country comprehensively in accordance with achievement of a particular social group could be defective. Although some argue that assessment of a nation is admittedly based on the accomplishment of particular group of people such as rulers, artists and scientists, I would concede that the general welfare of the public could be a better reference and indication of a great nation.

First of all, we should scrutinize the rudimentary welfare of a society and citizens’ satisfaction provided by the government to assess the greatness of a nation. For instance, the free and high-level healthcare, the high standard educational system and the plenty of occupancy capacities as the basic needs of the public could demonstrate an ideal society for the citizens. If a country’s employment rate is a big challenge, how would that nation be considered as “a great nation”? This phenomenon would influence citizens’ life in various aspects like educational advancement, life convenience, facilities accessibility, etc. This point is further elaborated with the example of providing health care for the public. With the rising cost of medical services, majority of people suffer from intolerable pressure to maintain their health. Iran’s current state is a good example of this issue. Many people cannot afford paying high medical services due to the constant inflation. Government is seemingly unable to resolve this lasting problem. Thus, the health services could represent the greatness of a nation. However, there are few bodies of people like rulers and celebrities who can pay for such services.

In addition, financial security is one of the factors to demonstrate welfare of the public. A country with stable or flourishing financial system could exemplify as the greatness of the scoring. Let us consider the example of Iran’s financial condition in recent years. Since there is a sanction against Iran, it is not possible to maintain a stable currency rate and financial situation; therefore, ordinary people cannot proceed with accomplishing life typical plans like housing and life facilities. Consequently, low welfare condition of citizens indicates a paradigm of a nation.

However, some may argue that human keeps seeking for flourishing and thriving which are beyond the basic requirements as the welfare of people in general. Talented and knowledgeable members of the society desire and strive for exploring and discovering novel realms. Hence, such explorations and processes are feasible in a case that the fundamental needs of the human are respondened. The United States is annually listed among the top great countries with high accomplishments in various fields of science and research. These accomplishments and notions represent that such countries have gone beyond fulfilling general welfare of the public and provided opportunities to delve into the diverse areas successfully which could be the best indicator of the greatness of a nation.

In conclusion, the reliable method to portray the greatness of a nation is based on meeting the primary needs of the citizens like free and high level healthcare services, high standard educational system and high employment rate. However, some may argue the exploration and advancement in various fields could be a good factor to demonstrate a great nation as the basic needs have already been met.