Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Law and rule are made by humans for humans, however, as every human being is different, so their perception, there is absolutely no certainty of making all rules to which no single being will have dissent. Hence even though claim seems to be ideal, this should be validated by lucid definitions of what “just” and “unjust” is! In general, however, laws which are always used for well being of society should be followed and which are against it should be disobeyed.

Every country's system is based on some general laws, which give guidelines for all citizens to have a balanced life. Tax laws are made to financially support a government which is running the country. Majority of people who are earning have to pay some part of their earnings to country, in form of taxes. Many countries have these rules in form of laws to make sure almost everyone is contributing to the system. Although skipping of tax payment of a single individual with a mediocre salary will not be affecting much to a system, skipping of taxes by a bunch of people having some resentments towards government will surely affect revenue generated from people. As government uses this revenue to fund themselves as well as to fund welfare of the country, it is more likely to cut down share of the welfare fund rather than the government fund. This situation will create monetary problems and ultimately the life of citizens will be affected (including those too who skipped taxes). So it is much necessary to follow laws and rules which are made to benefit society.

Not only it is a responsibility of the people to follow appropriate laws but also they have a moral duty to protest malign laws. Afganistan’s recent revolution is a quintessential example of how to tackle restraining regulations. An Afghani woman was never been allowed to drive an automobile neither was allowed to issue a driving license, maybe as a result of Afghan people’s men dominating mindset. Restricting woman to household and other chores was keeping Afganistan temporally behind whereas women were climbing new heights in rest of the world. Women fought this regulation and perhaps a religious belief over years. Ultimately on being successful to convince the government, first 12 woman driving licenses were permitted. This can be starting of a huge wave of revolution in Afghanistan, which has encouraged women to fight back other similar restricting regulations.

It may seem intelligible to distinguish between benign and malign laws, but it is not always that simple. Subjective nature of this laws makes it more complex. Not every law has widespread consensus. In a country like India, where caste is still a criterion for reservation, there is a law to support Scheduled castes, which were made during forming a constitution of India in mid of 20th century, when these castes were actually vulnerable. But now in 2018 as India is considered as one of the major developing countries in the world, no caste is as depraved as it were in mid 20th century. There are many reported cases of misusing this law by SC (Schedule Caste) people. Whereas many people are asking for a change in this law, SC people are striving their best to keep it intact. Both sides have their strong opinions to defend their positions and government is unable to come up with any solution over a dispute. As validity and necessity of this law are subjective, its tough to take one side and generalize the need of law.

In conclusion, on one hand, it is very fundamental right of a citizen to stand against unjust laws. That said, it is also a moral responsibility to follow and advocate just laws. However, a generalization of this claim will not be justified as terms “just” and “unjust” are subjective.