Government should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

The statement suggest that the government should stop funding the scientific research whose consequences are unknown. Which means if the scientist want to perform a scientific experiment whose results or consequence are unknown then the government would not fund the experiment. I completely disagree with the idea. Following would be the consequences if the government implements the policy. It also explains my stand to disagree with this policy.

Firstly, all the greatest inventions that are done in the past are invented by the scientist doing research for something else. For example, X-Rays were invented while doing the research for the Ni-Cd (Nickel Cadmium) at high temperature. This study had no clear consequences but turns out it invented the technology that we all use in our day to day life. If the government had not supported the experiment by funding the research, we would have been unaware of the X-Rays.

Secondly, if government stops funding such research then the privet funding would fund the ongoing research and also the new research, that might not feel alarming at the beginning but the issue with privet funding is that they claim the consequences of the research and that privet company that funded the research would be the owner of the patent on that invention, the scientist would be getting a small loyalty over the selling of that patent making it expensive in the end to the consumer of those good which has been manufactured using patented methods due to the high profit margins of the company who has the patent. Thus, when privet body is there in the system it would do anything to make their margins go up. Government funding do acquire some part of the research as loyalty but the researcher or inventor has the primary right over the filed patent. So, this policy affects the healthy system of mutual profit of researcher or scientist and the consumer of the goods manufactured using patented method.

In conclusion I do not think it’s a good idea to stop funding any type of research as it increases our creativity and feeds out curiosity. Inventions are the by-product of the research.