Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

The issue of budget allocation for development of a nation is complex. art has the ability to change social norms and educate people. many developed nations focus on investing and promoting art. However, I disagree with the statement that Governments should invest as much in the arts as military because it doesn't take account for the current state of any nation.

first, any nation should try to provide the basic facility to its own population. if there is major security threat to nation by any actor like terrorist or neighbouring country, then it should focus on eliminating those issues first. spending on defense system or army is one of the way, nation can enhance its security. Rather than focusing on art, nation should prioritise security because nation might not exist if these threats are not removed or mitigated.

Moreover, spending more on military can be helpful in many ways. if nation has widespread unemployment, then it can use the military as generating employment. many countries have successfully done this. also, military can use extra money provided by goverment to educate its soldiers in many technology.

In addition to, major part of military spending or budget is the cost of weapons. if nation doesn't have capacity to produce weapons then it has to import from other nations which become expensive. So, solely comparing number between military spending and art spending is not useful. we can spend less on art and even get more good result.

we can also use some part of military spending in promoting art within army.

In conclusion, without taking the current state of the nation in consideration, comparison between art and military investment is worth less.