Issue Task 28.

The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are various aspects one can refer to in order to determine the greatness of a nation. However, there are those who think that the surest indicator of a great nation is represented by the achievements of tis rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people. Admittedly, I would disagree with the statement because the general welfare of the people is necessary for the greatness of a nation, but we should not ignore the contributions of the leaders, artists, and scientists to the nation’s greatness.

To begin with, the welfare of the people can be a clue for determining whether it is sufficient or not to say that a country is a great nation. Take the countries in the Middle East as examples. These days, some countries such as Afghanistan and Yemen are riddled with the threats of the group of Islamic extremists, ISIS. People living in the area that is being attacked by malicious forces are in abject poverty and wretched conditions. Even if there are valorous leaders, impressive artists, or intelligent scientists, one can never say that the people live in a great nation.

Moreover, while the previous view is in an outsider’s position, we can consider the necessity of general welfare of people to the greatness of a nation in an insider’s viewpoint. In the case of South Korea, the rulers are parleying well with the delegates in the United Nations for condemning the missiles of their enemy, North Korea, and an artist named Psy singing Gangnam style has swept the world and catapulted to a great fame, and the biggest semiconductor company in Korea is domineering the world market. But as a Korean these results do not seem to contribute to the welfare of average Koreans, and in the situation of not be capable of establishing minor plans for life such as love, marriage, or having children, due to lack of possibility to get a job, Koreans seem to think that their country is not great.

However, we should not ignore the fact that the pioneers of a country surely contribute to the greatness of a nation. For example, India is thought of as a great nation because there are many admirable Indians in various areas. Gandhi is one of the most admired visionaries in the whole history of the world, and there have been many great Indian mathematicians such as Brahmagupta. Even though the general standard for living does not look sufficient for average Indian, one can propose that the country is great in some aspects.

In conclusion, the welfare of the people is very important to determine whether a country is great or not. But it is not possible to set aside the contributions of the pioneers of a country to the greatness of their nation.