Most people would agree that buildings represent a valuable record of any society’s past, but controversy arises when old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes. In such situations, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic building so that contemporary needs can be served.

Many regions preserve some relics that are descended from the history, sometime this existence will contradict with the practical purpose of modern society. In this sense, the speaker claims that development in modern society is more important than preserving historic building despite it is a valuable record of past society. In my view, I don’t agree speaker’s idea, although I concede that practical aspects are also needed to be concerned.

Admittedly, it is reasonable for planners to put higher priority on modern development over preservation of ruins. There are two reasons to support it. First, development of society ensure the living of people. After all, we humans are living creature, only after our survivals are secured, can we start to do other “high” things like protecting historic relics. Second, there are limited space in modern cities, so that it is unconscionable to sacrifice the living standard for the things that are old fashioned.

However, there are various reasons that we need to concern more on the historic relics despite the points I mentioned above. First, the historical things are unique and cannot be replicated. Compared to things in current society, which are generated continuously: commercial buildings, factories, and theme parks are developing and constructing incessantly today; by contrast, historical ruins are rare and are decaying, they will only decreasing in number overtime. After all, no one will deny that the things are rarer are have more value.

Furthermore, in most of time, preserving historical relics does not contradict with the idea of pragmatism. Actually, it exists a solution to benefit both between practical uses and preservation of historic things. On one hand, it can help boost the economy, which ensure the living of the people. By the uniqueness of relics, it can be great inducement to attract tourism. For example, in Italy the Arena of Rome is the hallmark of its city, which appeals numerous tourists to come every year and create myriad job opportunities and lucre to Rome. On the other hand, in fact, modern and historic things can coexist, we don’t need to abandon any one of them. To illustrate, there are many restaurants in Taiwan are remodeled from the ruins that remain from the period that we are colonized by Japan. This solution not only endue the life for old things but also solve the problem of limited space in the city.

To sum up, it is understandable that people will argue that development needs to be given precedence over preservation, since the less and less space for living and the reason that we need to sustain our livings. But after deliberation, we will find an irreplaceable nature of relics, that is worth for people to bestow more importance on them. Also, there is no clear-cut between preservation of historic relics and development of society, there exist balanced way to take care of both.