A nation should require all of it students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I disagree with the suggestion that all students should be subjected to the same curriculum until college. A standard curriculum tries to create a monolithic society of which restricts students ability to be different and to think creatively. Students have different needs. Moreover, they have different cultural backgrounds. Its effect may be inconspicuous but has severe consequences on our society.

First, students are the next generation of our society. It would not be surprising for them to be different than the previous generation. With the current speed of technological progress, most of the mundane automatable work will be replaced by robots. However, the robots lack creativity of human beings. Standard curriculum however, kills creativity. Every student is different. Students have different skills and talents. They have different interests. This makes a standard curriculum ineffective, since it does not prepare the next generation with necessary emphasis on creativity.

Additionally, our world is culturally diverse. Students that come from different cultural backgrounds, may not feel that the current educational system welcomes their culture. For example, a hindu student might no want to attend biology class, or a muslim student might not want to attend a gym class. Moreover, minorities should be able to open their own schools and follow their own curriculums. This would hep them protect their identity, and would encourage them to remain as a part of a society that welcomes them.

Finally, stalwarts of the standard curriculum might argue that different curriculums would create cultural differences in our nation that might be difficult to fix. However, diversity is needed in the competitive work environment. It helps companies reach wider communities, and expand their market. In fact, this would help our nation by ameliorate the economy.

In conclusion, standard curriculum does not prepare our students for the world. Moreover, it does not take the differences students have into account. There should be more focus on individual needs, skills and talents.