A nation should require all of its students to study the sale national curriculum until they enter college.

If two things happen at the same time, it does not automatically mean that there is a causality relationship. The author came the to the conclusion that since a change in the late night news format to include more national news and less local news and weather, they have seen lower advertising revenue, that the solution to this problem to is air more local news and weather. This argument is fundamentally flawed because the author jump to conclusions and fails to consider any other trends in viewership nationally or locally, the economy and trends in advertising spending and is creating a cause and effect relationship that is not guaranteed to be true.

The largest flaw in this argument is that the author is looking at the facts in a bubble and not taking a look at the larger system at play. There are several other reasons that advertising could be down during that period that cannot be analyzed unless one looks that the ratings of this station relative to other stations during this exact time period. We don't know that viewership went down at all during this period. There are other trends that could help shed some light on whether there is a clear relationship between the change an advertising spent. For Example with the introduction of more and more on demand streaming, viewer have the opportunity to catch up on prime time shows later in the evening during late night ours. This very common practice, that I myself am guilty of, could also be an explanation for less people watching actual late night programming.

Furthermore, this argument is weaker still because, it is very unclear if the complaints received during this time concerning weather and local news coverage was related to not enough coverage verse the quality of the coverage. The language used in that part of the argument is vague and it is absolutely likely that the station may have a quality of programing issue and not just a late night programming mix issue. It could be the case that in light of seeing the standards of national programming, the local news and weather is now not seen as quality relative to the national. This could be a possible source of the complaints about local news and weather.

Also with advertisers having to spread their dollars across more platforms and live streaming continues to grow, it is also possible that the reduction in advertising dollars is related to that as overall viewership is down on live TV across the board.

This argument could be bolstered if we had more data on who the station was performing relative to other stations during that period. This would show if that was a systemic deficit in live viewers of late night programing and all stations were down or if this station was performing in line with the trends. Examples of specific complains received during this time would also help give clarity and weight to the idea that the limited weather and local news was actually the issue. More analytics on the trends in advertising spend on live TV stations vs. advertising send on streaming TV content would also help one view this change relative to the overall market.

The connection of a change in programming make up and lower revenue in this argument was a leap. Critical pieces of information are missing in order for the facts to line up and be viewed relative to the system. The argument is flawed and would be helped by looking at clear viewership numbers during the time of the change.