A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The author suggests a nation should require all of its students to study the same curriculum upon entering college. Many critics argue that students are unable to receive the same education levels because more fortunate affluent families are able to put their children in private education, which often have more resources for student success. However, as a nation, students must receive similar education upon entering college because the benefits outweigh the costs.

First, no student should lack the educational foundation due to predispositions such as wealth and socioeconomic background. If there are two students and one have a family that is affluent and another family that is below the national poverty line, there are many differences between the families. One family can provide nutritious food and seek additional academic resources for the student to succeed. On the contrary, the other family may have many barriers such as not having money to even provide nutritious food to support development of the brain and for daily energy function. As a result, these differences in people prove to be unfair because a persons’ success in a capitalistic country is usually defined with hard work. However, if there are two people working equally hard and one has more resources than the other, this creates an uneven playing field.

Furthermore, having students receive similar education upon entering college is more beneficial for competition and performance as a whole. In other words, if there are 10,000 students applying for college admissions at a certain university. Let us take 5,000 of the students came from affluent families and the other half came from low income families. If one were to solely consider statistics and not a holistic review of all the applicants, one might infer from the data that the more affluent the students with higher gpas are more suited for their university. However, upon digging deeper into the data, the students who also have higher gpas, might come from low income familes and thus worked throughout their high school education and potentially had less resources than others. As a result, this holoistic approach could create an even more competitive incoming class by comparing the most successful students.

Finally, having a similar background is needed in order to prepare students as a whole for future endeavors and success. As children, what we are taught at a young age is highly correlated with our future decisions. For example, growing up, if I am a low income student and I am taught school is not important, there is a high probability I will not take school serious and might make future decisions to not want to continue school. By having students grow up with similar backgrounds educationally does not only have educational benefits, but net positive externalities on the individual as a whole. Meaning, in school, students are not only taught about math, science, and other topics, rather life long lessons and common sense, therefore providing a student with similar education can positively impact a student later down in life even someone working a minimum wage job.

Although many suggest we live in a capitalistic society where one’s success should allow them to provide their children with any resource regardless of the cost, we must consider the uneven playing field this creates morally and reconsider the benefits.