A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The speaker claims that a country should make rules such that all the students read same curriculum until they are in high school. The speaker assumes that uniformity will make the evaluation process easier and ultimately support the nation however he fails to evaluate the disadvantages of national curriculum and thus I disagree with the speaker’s assertion.

To begin with, a nation is never homogeneous. A variety of ethnic group live there, the geography of various place is different; the climate too. In such situation applying same curriculum in all places is not beneficial. How can a national curriculum address the problem of Chennai, which is warmer and inhabited by majority of Muslims? It instead fails to address the problem of both the places and the education has ultimately no benefit in solving the problems there.

Additionally, in a nation there live people of heterogeneous interests and capacity. Not all have same likeness, same aspiration and hopes from life. Moreover not all can solve the same difficulty of maths problems. Having same national curriculum means the difficulty of curriculum to be average which may not be accessible by the student who is poorer than average. In such case he will consider himself as useless fellow not capable of doing anything. Also all student may not like to work on same field. Can we imagine Einstein reading literature and bringing great revolution on that sector? Also we can never imagine Lionel Messi doing some physics calculation and challenging Stephan Hawking. They are capable in their own field and would not have been this successful had they been forced to aspire anything other than their interest.

In contrast, the national curriculum serves the nation to evaluate the students without bias as all the students will be judged under same curriculum. Also this will help in teaching the students about the subject of national interest like democracy; foreign policy; national security. However in all this too we cannot be sure if the curriculum maker will not be bias while designing the course. National curriculum may even have negative impact as a country may instead motivate not for their improvement but for the nation’s purpose. For example a government can provide misleading information about another country and urge the students to act against the country.

To sum up; though having national curriculum may serve well the country in teaching the established norms and values, its disadvantages outweighs the benefits. Heterogeneity among people makes applying the national curriculum useless and hence a country shouldn’t strive for national curriculum.