A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A standardized curriculum can be advantageous in many ways, especially in the context of a student who is about to enter college. At most colleges, students come from many different backgrounds and with academic experiences that do not resemble that of any other student. With the amalgamation of such a wide range of experiences, it is important to be able to establish a baseline of knowledge that college professors can build upon and that's where a standardized national school curriculum can come into play.

Imagine a scenario: two students who are about to start their freshman year at college. They are from 2 different states, but both went to public school in their town and both took Calculus in high school. Their first semester they are both in the same Calculus II because it is a pre-requisite for their other classes. One of them finds the material to be something that she's already encountered before and so finds the class fairly easy, maybe even too slow-paced for her liking. The other one finds the class to be too fast-paced and likely the most difficult class she's ever taken. Why were the students' experiences in the same class so different? After all, they had both successfully finished Calculus in high school and had about the same intellectual prowess. This is a scenario that is not a singular case in any college class. The educational background that everyone has when they enter college has no standardization. This makes college classes a particularly difficult situation to navigate because professors have no established baseline that they can assume all students in their class are at. As a result, classes end up being too difficult for some and not challenging enough for others.

A nation-wide standardized curriculum can also ensure that all students get exposure to a wide range of subjects. There are countries where the education system mandates that every student has to study the same set of 9 subjects until high school. This allows students the opportunity to explore their interests and eventually settle on what they would like to pursue further. A standardized curriculum might restrict students' flexibility in their choice of subjects and not allow them to focus exclusively on what they enjoy studying, but this is not always the case. Often students don't know where their interests lie until they are given the opportunity to get a feel for what the subject is, and that is exactly where a standard curriculum can help the students get the required exposure.

A standardized curriculum before college can give students the exposure that they need to various subjects before they choose a specific field of study in college. It can also help to establish a standardized level of understanding and knowledge among students coming from different schools across the nation. Calculus I in school A could then be assumed to have covered the same material as Calculus I at school B, making students' transitions into college easier. Standardization of a currciulum can be the key to ensuring students are as prepared as they can be to enter college.