A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I disagree with the author's claim that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college because the wording of the author's argument seems unilateral and unidimensional which fails to explain the claim and its implications in its entirety.

The author speaks that all students irrespective of their interests and background must study the same national curriculum. Different students have their interest in different domains like some students can be interested in Science, while others in Commerce or Humanities. Thus imposing the condition to study the same national curriculum on each one of them will hamper their performance giving an incorrect picture of the child's merit. Moreover, it is possible that the student loses interest in whatever he has been taught just because of the fact that he is not able to understand the subject. This can again be a negative factor in the student's education.

Second, the author says that the curriculum must be the same before the students enter college, where they might choose different subjects according to their will. This will make the subjects that the student studied before the college of no relevance if the subjects opted in college are of no relevance to the ones studied before. Hypothetically let's consider the scenario that the student studied science before college and on entering college he chose Humanities. Science and Commerce being two different domains, wouldn't help the student in his further studies. Thus, the student will have to invest more time in studying Humanities first and then cope up with the college studies.

Third, the author does not consider the fact that in all parts of the nation, each student will be able to get the same level of education because of various factors like skill level of the teachers, financial background of the schools. This might cause disparities between the students joining the same college as one student can be more educated than the other. Even, it is not necessary that the curriculum followed by the student before college might be of any use in the area where he/she lives, given that job opportunities in different parts of the nation are of differing nature.

Since the author does not take into consideration the interest of the students, the relevance of subjects before and after entering college as well as the skill level of students in different parts of the nation due to varying backgrounds, hence I disagree with the author's claim that a nation should require students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.