A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The author here states that the curriculum for students should be similar nationwide until they reach college.However I strongly disagree with argument because imposing a same curriculum nationwide will takeaway the freedom from students of choosing subjects which they are majorly intersted in.

Freedom of choice is very necessary particularly in the field of education.If the student cant decide what he wants to learn in future , He can loose interest which can result into students leaving the schools , The school drop out rates would increase significantly in these situation. Also if they don’t leave schools they might study the syllabus vapidly and pass the exams cramming things without any practical knowledge.

The other important thing is if the curriculum is same throughout the nation , providing knowledge about regional languages,culture and history might not be as efficiently possible and the students might not get to know certain things about there regions which is very important.

In conclusion I would say that the authors idea of same curriculum nationwide is inaccurate as it does not takes into consideration the primary interest of the students and these idea might also keep the students isolated from acquiring regional knowledge.