A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Taking a glance at the various education systems around the world, one can easily find that the statement a national standard curriculum should be established for all students before college is a contentious one. The benefits brought by such a policy are self-evident, yet so are the disadvantages. In my point of view, the disadvantages of this policy outweigh the merits and thus I can’t agree with this policy completely.

A national curriculum can benefit the society in several ways. First, with a common curriculum, it’s easier for universities and colleges to recruit students and to design courses. Second, a well-designed curriculum can usually provide the students with the basic knowledge and skills that one needs to grow into productive and responsible citizens in the future. Moreover, the curriculum can also teach the students the core values upon which the country is built. This policy, along with a national standard in terms of school facilities and faculty, is especially effective in a relatively homogenous society such as Japan, whose education system has cultivated a number of Nobel Prize winners and facilitated a highly productive and disciplined society.

However, apart from these benefits, the policy also engenders multiple problems that will undermine its efficacy. First, in a country with a more complicated demographic distribution, a national curriculum, to find common ground, will preclude the courses that are of regional or ethical significance, which may have negative influences on students’ identities and inheritance of culture. For example, it would be inappropriate to adopt this policy in Canada, where most residents in Quebec are descendants of overseas French while citizens outside Quebec mainly speak English. Pushing a national curriculum in countries like Canada will undoubtedly meet with strong resistance. And in fact, Canada does have one of the most localized and specialized education systems around the world.

More importantly, the curriculum is most likely to be designed by the national department of education. Therefore what should be included in or excluded from the curriculum falls in the hands of a few people, which may undermine the benefits of this policy because the decision-makers can be careless and arbitrary. Can they cover interests of all the students in the curriculum? Have they taken into consideration the fact that a number of students learn at their own pace? Can their design reflect the common notions of the society? A perfunctory curriculum design will not only defeat the purpose of a national curriculum but also impair the quality of education.

What’s worse, the decision-makers can utilize this policy as a way to promote their biased and one-sided views. For example, the Chinese and history textbooks in China are, in my opinion, tools to instill unquestioning patriotism into the students. The textbooks that are supposed to enlighten and inform the students blatantly downplay the disastrous consequences of a series of absurd decisions, obliterate the doubts about the legitimacy of the party and contain misleading connotations, all of which are pernicious to the students’ understanding of the society they live in. Therefore an inappropriate curriculum design, how unlikely it may seem, will have serious repercussions on how the students view the world.

In conclusion, the policy has its pros and cons. While a well-designed curriculum demonstrates several benefits especially in certain homogeneous countries, the disadvantages of this policy, as shown above, preponderate its benefits in most countries. Therefore, I fundamentally disagree with this policy.